Thanks for the great information. Maybe this is a sign that people are waking up and tuning out mainstream media!!

FUTURE PRIMATE

Gallup Poll Finds Confidence In TV News Has Hit A New Low

Confidence in television news has hit a new low, a new Gallup poll reported Tuesday.

The polling firm does an annual survey of the confidence that Americans have in their biggest institutions. Gallup noted that its survey took place before CNN and Fox News botched the Supreme Court’s ruling on President Obama’s health care law, presumably as a way to emphasize just how little faith people seem to have in their newscasts.

Just 21% of adults said they had a “great deal” or “quite a lot” of confidence in TV news. That’s down a whopping 25% from 1993, when Gallup began the poll:

gallup

View original post

2 responses to “”

  1. Tea Party Slayer says :

    I’ve embraced capitalism my entire life. But at 44 years of age, and safely hidden behind the anonimity of teapartyslayer, I will admit that I believe that I’m more open to listening to folks like Chris Hedges when he quotes Karl Marx’s predictions on the intemperance of capitalism. I hadn’t focused on people like Hedges before reading your blog. However, much like what happens with healthcare, I think that pure greed has played a big role in diminishing the quality of news we get. It’s easier for a network to get ratings and advertisers if they pick an extreme side on the political spectrum, instead of just providing an information service. Also, cable TV has to fill up 24 hours with repetitive fluff, regardless if there is news or not. News organizations get bigger ratings with manufactured dissonance and disorder.

    • thejumbledmind says :

      I can understand where you are coming from. I have a business degree and at one time wanted to work in finance banking but life took me a different direction. As I am about the same age that you are, I can tell you that I haven’t stopped learning. Sometimes the things I do learn frighten me terribly, but I refuse to bury my head in the sand anymore. I grew up in a very conservative family and much of my life has been spent living with that particular value system. I found, however, that it has never matched up to my own beliefs. I appreciate guys like Chris Hedges and Noam Chomsky because they aren’t afraid to talk about the truth. Hedges will quote Marx because he thinks that he was right about something even though he knows that there will be some backlash at the mere quoting of Marx. Undoubtedly, greed has played a role in the diminishing quality of news today. It is, arguably, the best way to control the masses. Thank you so much for all of your comments.

Leave a Reply

